What’s Up, Wednesday? //8\\

Welcome back to WHAT’S UP WEDNESDAY, hosted by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. To learn more about it, you should really visit their respective pages. I use it to keep me writing, to make myself think about writing, and to force myself to think positive and find things to look forward to.

What I’m Reading

I’m still reading Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon. I’m struggling through it a bit, because it’s very, uh, self-aggrandizing. I absolutely think that is due to the main character and not the author, though. It’s written in the first-person perspective of a struggling author who’s working on his masterpiece novel. Bye-the-bye it’s also about a white dude’s mid-life crisis and I kind of want to tell Michael Chabon to stop wanking. After I give that some thought, though, I wonder if that’s spectacularly effective writing. Because the writing is good, and I’m obviously still reading. I want to see where the story goes. I’m just a little bit over reading about self-destructive white dudes.

What I’m Writing

That Golf Story – I’ve made it back to a chapter that I am deliriously happy to be writing. It’s fun, playful, and energetic, and there will be kissing.

Delia – Oh, god. I actually started revising Delia and I hate everything. I  made myself a note to “cut everything that doesn’t involve kissing, snark, or blood.” Which actually sounds like a pretty solid revision strategy. And then I realize that I’ve already cut 20k and it feels like nothing happened. Regardless, I’ve written a new opening scene and I’m cutting and pasting and crying and writing. Definitely trying not to think about the complete overhaul the first half needs.

What Works for Me

I’ve never written more quickly or been as excited to finish a section than I have since I started talking to Kate and Bailey about my work. In the past I’ve always been supremely reluctant to talk about my writing at all, but having two people that I like and trust to bounce ideas off of and get positive reinforcement from has been a blessing.

Though I may change my tune when I need them to start actively critiquing.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Last week I went to an event at the Smithsonian where I got to meet Martin Sheen! Not to sound dramatic, but it was everything I’ve ever dreamed of (and more!). The whole event was basically a conversation about his character on The West Wing and he was wonderful and funny and kind and we made so much eye contact. Watching him watch The West Wing is also my new favorite hobby.

On Friday I officially tendered my letter of resignation! Keep your fingers crossed that I get accepted to grad school or I may be in Cleveland for more than the summer. But that’s alright (eh), because I’m pretty okay with my contingency plans.

7 thoughts on “What’s Up, Wednesday? //8\\

  1. First off, best of luck with getting accepted into grad school! I’m sure you’ll be fine. 🙂

    It’s amazing how much of a difference talking to other people about your work can make, isn’t it? During my MA there were plenty of times where I thought my story was rubbish, but when the other people on my course actually wanted to know what was going to happen next and cared about what happened to my characters it really encouraged me to keep writing.

    And I feel you on the reading front. Give me a book with a whiny, white male protagonist and I’ll give you an open fire to chuck it into.

    Have a great week!

  2. Stephanie Scott says:

    Writing buddies make a huge difference! joining an in person writers group was a big step for me. And then I moved up to professional-seeking writers. They hobbyists were great, but I need to move forward. I’m so inspired by the women (and 2 guys) in my group who write among raising families, working, etc.

  3. Martin Sheen! West Wing! OMG yay, you lucky thing.

    I used to be reluctant to share my work with others until it was “ready”, too. Then last year, in a year-long creative writing program, I learned the value of sharing early and often. Useful early feedback can keep you from wasting time and words on story directions, characters, etc., that aren’t working. Good first readers and critique partners can help sharpen your vision and make the words you actually write better quality. If you’ve got good readers/critters, you’re one of the lucky ones!

  4. HA! I think “cut everything that doesn’t involve kissing, snark, or blood” is my new life motto. I will need t-shirts 🙂 Good luck with grad school and enjoy basking in the glow of President Bartlet!

Leave a Reply

