What’s Up, Wednesday? //6\\

Happy New Year and welcome back to WHAT’S UP WEDNESDAY, hosted by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk. To learn more about it, you should really visit their respective pages. I use it to keep me writing, to make myself think about writing, and to force myself to think positive and find things to look forward to.

What I’m Reading

I finally finished my great re-read of 2014. Well, most of it. I’m still halfway through the Harry Potter series and in the middle of Summerland, but those will keep. New year, new books! Yesterday I finished  Making Headlines by my good friend Erin Brown. It was just as delightfully scandalous as I expected with a bonus helping of Veronica Mars-esque sleuthing and tons of chemistry. It’s a companion novel to her first book, Taking Flight (which I also highly recommend). It was a fun page-turner and it flew by.

Now I’m reading Eternal Night by Carina Adly Mackenzie. I’ve followed Carina on twitter forever and I’ve really been looking forward to having a chance to read it. I love the premise – a bunch of eternally young gods have lost their powers as people stopped believing in them and the apocalypse seems to be imminent – but there’s something about it that’s just not clicking with me. I think it’s the perspective shifts each chapter. There are a lot of characters and I’m having trouble getting as familiar with them as the writing leads me to believe I should be. But I’m only 13% in, so I’m excited to see how it comes together.

What I’m Writing

Still working on That Golf Story. I’m about two-thirds of the way done, which is both exciting and nerve-wracking. I’m so glad I thoroughly outlined it before I started so I know what’s coming up and what I have to look forward to. It makes the prospect of sitting down and writing less daunting. Now I just have to worry about making sure there’s a cohesive, compelling plot buried under all the fun I’m having.

Short-term goal: Finish the second section / Chapter 12 by this time next week.

What Works for Me

For Christmas my roommate got me a few bottles of wine and a giant wine glass. Sometimes there’s no better writing companion than booze. I can disassociate just enough that I can write, and write a lot, without second-guessing what I’m putting on the page. Sure, some of it may get scrapped later, but it’s kind of freeing to see what kind of ideas I’ll have next.

I’m also excited because the gifts will pair perfectly with Write Drunk, Edit Eventually, Kate and my pet project, when our schedules align.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Oh boy. I’ve taught myself how to crochet, though not very well. I took a bunch of days off and went home for Christmas. I visited my extended family. I bought myself a bunch of books at Half Price. I’m almost done with my grad school applications (I better be, the first is due next week). I went to the driving range.

And I watched so, so much TV. Most recently I caught up on the US version of Shameless. I’m addicted. Next up: Looking.

5 thoughts on “What’s Up, Wednesday? //6\\

    • Molly the Ghost says:

      I’m trying so hard, Bailey. Sometimes I update on my own, but that’s much sadder. It’s just kind of difficult to get our schedules to work out. But we will prevail!

      (Not looking forward to later this year when we’re going to have to make it virtual. Though maybe we can skype you in, then!)

  1. Happy New Year 😀 Good luck with your golf story ^_^

    Also, I checked out your About Me section and how’s this for a small world: I graduated from Sussex. Granted it was a few years before you went, but you’re definitely the first person on Blogger who went to the same UK uni as me. Isn’t Brighton awesome?

    Have a fantastic week!

Leave a Reply

