What’s up, Wednesday? Inaugural Post

WHAT’S UP WEDNESDAY is a blog meme I heard about from my dear friend Bailey Knight and have decided to implement on my own blog. This is happening in the vain hope that it will get me to a) think about this oft neglected blog more often, b) post here more, and c) write more.

As it has once again been months since I’ve posted here, I thought it was about time to breathe some new life into this blog. Look, I even gave it a facelift. What more could you possibly want from me?

What I’m Reading

I finally, finally picked up a copy of These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. I’ve been meaning to read it for months since I saw Meagan Spooner at the NoVa Teen Book Festival way back in March. She sold it as a sci-fi ship wreck and so far it has delivered. Really enjoying the cross between Titanic and Firefly that somehow totally works.

Last week I finished Vicious by VE Schwab and oh my god, you guys. It was so good. I can’t recommend it enough. The protagonist might be a villain the villain is believed to be a hero, there are superpowers and intrigue and death and gunfights. So, so much fun. I’ll definitely be picking more books up by Schwab in the future.

What I’m Writing

I made a big deal out of it on tumblr, but didn’t mention it here and here it is, the big news: I finished the first draft of that novel that wouldn’t end! It is currently way too long, and has a few plot holes, and some things just don’t make sense BUT that’s what revision is for! The draft is done and in a metaphorical drawer so that I can get some perspective on what changes will need to be made for the first round of edits. While I wait to do those…

I started a new project! I got a jump-start and outlined it in its entirety before I started writing. It doesn’t have a name yet, but it’s a contemporary YA novel about a girl playing golf on the boy’s team. There will be snark and banter, angry make-outs and rock shows, but for now I’m still trying to figure out just who the characters are.

Because I’m insane, I’ve challenged myself to write 60k in 60 Days, like a more reasonable version of NaNoWriMo. I’m not going to count the days consecutively (otherwise I’m already way, way behind schedule) but after 4 days I’m already at ~5000 words, so I’m feeling good!

What Inspires Me Right Now

My friends have been passing around the DVDs of the one-season show Life As We Know It for a few months now and it’s finally my turn with them. So I’m using those as the proverbial carrot to make myself study for the GRE.

As I just got home from a week with my parents, I can honestly say they’ve been a good source of inspiration. I talked to them about my grad school plans, and my worries, and were really helpful. They were so supportive, and helped me realized that this is the best decision for me. I know it’s time that I leave DC, and they’ve been so understanding – about my plans to move home next summer, about moving hundreds of miles away for grad school, about my aspirations – that it’s really helped assuage some of my fears, if not my anxieties.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Last week I went home and Mom and I took a little road trip up through Michigan. We were originally supposed to hang around the beach reading for two days, but the weather didn’t cooperate. We climbed Sleeping Bear Dunes, and saw a few lighthouses, but for the most part, Northern Michigan was cold and dreary. But we managed the better part of five days together in a car and didn’t kill each other (or even fight once!) so I consider the trip a resounding success. I also got to play in the first annual Bay Girls Alumni Scramble while I was home, and catching up with the golf team was a lot of fun. I even went to the drive-in while home, even though I had to endure the Expendables 3 in order to fall asleep during re-watch Guardians of the Galaxy.

Now that I’m back in DC, I have plans to take the GRE this Sunday. Which means that this week is dedicated to studying for the GRE. Next month grad school applications open, so I’ll start in on those and email some former professors to beg ask for letters of recommendation. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

6 thoughts on “What’s up, Wednesday? Inaugural Post

  1. Good luck with your GREs! I’m still putting off taking mine, even though I’ve done pretty well on the practice exams and questions I’ve taken.

    60K in 60 days can definitely be done. From my own experience, I’ve written 397K in three months and 406K in five months, so when you’re inspired and make the time, you can do it!

  2. Good luck with your GREs! 😀 And HOORAY for finishing the draft. YAY!

    I read Vicious earlier in the year. I quite enjoyed the different take on the superhero genre.

    Have a great week.

  3. Yay for your inaugural post! I’ll try to motivate you to post every week, but even I only join in one Wednesday / month.

    60K in 60 days?!? I have never heard of this. I shall do it too! Starting today!

    Also I wanna read this space shipwreck book. Sigh. Too many good books on my reading list. I’ll never read them all.

    (Also, the facelift mobile version is lovely, dear.)

    • Molly the Ghost says:

      My goal this year was to blog once a month. That’s it! And I have been failing spectacularly, so hopefully this meme will mean that I blog at least that often.

      I’m pretty sure I made up 60K in 60 Days, but it sounded do-able and like a good word-count for the first draft of this project (since I’m sure I’ll end up way over anyway). And yay! Welcome to the club. Soon we shall have minions.

      You can put this book on your TBR, just like Fierce is on mine. I bought it yesterday and hopefully I’ll get to read it soon.

      (Eee, thanks!)

Leave a Reply

