One More Page

photo

Look at all the pretty.

So, alright, this is one resolution broken. I had a list of totally manageable New Year’s Resolutions, or so I thought. One of them was to blog once a month. Once a month! That’s not even difficult! And I kind of equivocated with “yeah, but February is the shortest month” but that’s bull. I just didn’t do it. I put it off until the last minute, like always, and didn’t follow through. Instead of blogging on February 28th, I spent it watching Teen Wolf with my best friend. So I don’t regret the decision, necessarily, but I could have blogged while we watched (I had my laptop, after all) or I could have, you know, just not procrastinated. [See: me finally finishing this post on March 31st.]

And yeah, I did my usual roundtables over at Off Color TV, [uh, okay, no. Nope. I’m behind on Parks and the last few eps of Teen Wolf fell through the cracks.] but that was contributing to a post, not actual blogging, and… you don’t care.

Anyway, BOOKS! I’m kind of glad this post got delayed because I have even more book-related stuff to talk about. Y’all know that I love books. Love, love, love ’em. I’ve been buying them more and more, which is wonderful. There’s a certain sense of joy and also comfort in having shelves lined with books. I keep mine organized by color because they’re my books and I can do what I want. Also, I’m more likely to remember what the book looks like than the author or the title at any given moment. It’s my system, it works for me. And gives me some pretty cool looking bookshelves.

So the last month or two have been more bookish than usual. It’s glorious. I’ve been going to the library more often because it’s just through the park and it’s a really nice walk. Sure, the loan-period isn’t very long and the renewal limits are even worse, but books! Free books! And they have a rotation of books for sale that are never more than a dollar. So far I’ve already acquired The Age of Miracles (Walker), Great House (Krauss), Middlesex (Eugenides) and Telegraph Avenue (Chabon). I also wanted to get the copies of Bossypants and Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me and send them to friends as a fun project, but alas, when I returned they had already disappeared.

But I’ve also made more of an effort to buy new books. Because, as much as I love second-hand books – books that have had their pages turned, that have a life of their own – authors don’t get those proceeds. So I’ll still use the library or my Kindle to find books and authors I adore and admire and then once I feel that tug of connection with a book, or an author, or just a sentence that was so beautiful you wonder how someone managed to write it, I have to buy it.

I’ve recently fallen in writer-love with Maggie Stiefvater. She seems amazing, her life seems cool, and her books make me want to die a little bit. But in a good way. I once pulled up a review of The Raven Boys on my phone in the middle of a bar to show my friend Kate one of the (many) amazing sentences that filled its pages. Since I read TRB, I’ve been picking my way through her other books. I bought Forever at a Half Price Books when I was visiting my parents over Thanksgiving. It’s the third in a series, though, so it sat prettily on my shelf while I worked through the first two. Shiver I got from the library. A day after I picked its sequel, Linger, up from the holdshelf at the library – while I was still carrying it around in my purse – I bought a signed copy from One More Page, an independent bookstore where my friend Kate was participating in a reading/author panel. (Don’t worry, I bought the anthology she appeared in, too!)

There’s some small addiction in buying books. I love to see my shelves fill up, to support authors, to know that I can read any of them, any time I want. I can’t suddenly drop everything to follow the assassination trails of past presidents or skip a little league game to save the world from Coyote, but I can pick up these books and be transported into those situations and that’s kind of thrilling.

So, I’m going to read Kate’s short story and give her some feedback before diving back into Forever. And then tomorrow Camp NaNo kicks off and, though I don’t really understand how it works, I’m hoping to finish the first draft of my novel. The novel I have been working on for two years and then end is in sight, people! Maybe one day, in a year or even ten, I’ll have my very own novel to add to my bookshelves.

Oh, I also picked up a few galleys when One More Page had their 3rd anniversary party. I got:

  • The Unnaturals (Barnes – whom I follow on Twitter and kind of adore)
  • Etched on Me (Crowell)
  • Be Safe, I Love You (Hoffman) [I actually got this book as the result on Buzzfeed’s What New Book Should You Read This Spring? quiz]
  • The Remedy (Goetz)
Leave a Reply

