I Really Need to Lock. It. Up.

I don’t know if I love this week or hate it. Because if there’s one thing I’m good at, it’s indecision.

The Ups:

There were fireworks. Literally. I walked down to the Mall Saturday night (yes, I’m counting it as part of this week. My week seems to run Saturday-Friday. So what?) with some friends to watch the fireworks that were being set off over the water front to celebrate the Cherry Blossom Festival. So, not just fireworks, but cherry blossoms, too.

Got my offer pack from the University of Sussex. That’s right, chumps. In 5 short months (4 of those summer break! Eat it, nerds!), I’ll be making my way across the pond to tepid summer days. Now that’s what I’m talking about. Also worth looking forward to: accents, fashion, traveling around the UK, traveling around Europe, visiting that place Elizabeth got proposed to by Darcy (the first time), and THIS.

Meh:

Pre-departure Orientation: This Saturday I’m meeting with the study abroad advisers for GW England and talking with a bunch of other students who’ll also be going abroad in the fall. It’s not that I’m not excited for the meeting, because I am, but rather I don’t really have time for this.

The Downs:

School: Right, yeah, I’m at college by my own choice, yadda yadda yadda. That doesn’t mean that I want to be, like, assessed and stuff. Just let me learn and trust I paid attention (jokes). I’m not even worried about finals – that’s what reading week is for. It’s just the papers that are getting to me. Three papers in three weeks. Is there no mercy? As Uncle Jesse would say, “Have mercy!” (Though that might be a smidge out of context.) I turned in my first today, a biography of Charles Preuss. Next week I’m turning in a paper on the alternative belief systems of the European Enlightenment. Like, you know, Deism, Paganism, etc. The week following I have to turn in a dissection of the British Council and their public diplomacy, specifically in regards to the “special relationship” with America.

The weather keeps f*cking with me. Honestly, Mother Nature, just pick something and go with it! I’m sick of this dithering. First you’re cold and rainy, then cold and windy, then hot and windy, then warm and rainy and now just plain warm. I need you to lock it up. Cold and rainy – that’s fine with me. Warm and rainy – a-okay! Windy – sure, why not?! Just lock. it. up.

Okay. Rant done. I’ll just be over here, taking some calm, deep breaths. It’s fine. Radiohead will make me feel better, it always does.

Leave a Reply

