“The Theme of this Club is ‘Love Your Body Day!'”

It makes me sad when WordPress tells me that my last post was “A While Ago.” But, in my defense, I’ve had a lot going on. I had midterms (some of which I actually had to study for! Do you know how tiring that is? I just figured that out.); I had Spring Break (nothing exciting happened. My quest for Blue Bell was foiled.); and now I’ve either got a paper or an exam every week from now until finals. Still, I’ll try and find something to write about.

But, wait! I have had new life developments! I did do something fairly exciting last weekend!Β  First things first, I was officially accepted to study abroad at the University of Sussex next fall. I have already begun compiling a list of things I want to do once in England. It will be epic (and I do not use that word lightly).

In order to bring some spontaneity and craziness to my life, I reluctantly agreed to go clubbing this past weekend. I’d never been before. (Can you blame me? I don’t know of any clubs in Cleveland, and wouldn’t go even if I did. Because, you know, it’s the Cle.) Anyway, the leader of our troop decided to ease me into it, I suppose, by deciding that we’d go to a gay club. Because, why not? This way I wouldn’t have skeevy guys hitting on me. No, instead we got to witness drag queens signing karaoke. And they were awesome. The music was basically club-remixes of the Top 40. All of the songs were by female artists (Ke$ha, Britney Spears, Rihanna, Lady Gaga, Pink, etc.) It was crowded but not packed, and honestly a whole lot of fun. The best part of all? No cover. Jokes, it was totally the lasers.

This might just be a weekly thing. Check out the exaggerated version of my Saturday night:

And, yes, the overall experience was fairly similar to the HIMYM episode, “Okay Awesome.” Namely because in the same weekend, I, too, broke a tooth. And how muffled the real world sounds when you leave.

 

Leave a Reply

