Adulation: My love letter to Community.

2010 wasn’t completely terrible. I had some good times. I mean, of course some really, really terrible things happened, too. I could waste your time by listing them all, but someone’s already done it, and I promise, she did a much funnier job than I ever could. Check it out.

Anyway, I’ve had a few good discoveries of 2010. One of my favorites was Twitter. It’s not that I didn’t realize that it existed, so much as I thought it wasn’t for me. Boy, was I wrong. I love that site.

Two of my other great discoveries were both Community related. I don’t know why I didn’t give it a chance before, but I wish I had. It’s hilarious. I guess it was because I never really watched The Soup, so I had no appreciation for Joel McHale. And the latest project I’d seen of Chevy Chase’s was, quite possibly Caddyshack. (That’s not counting Hot Tub Time Machine, because he wasn’t a main character. And, for the record, I love Caddyshack.)

But now that I’ve seen it, I’m sold. Joel McHale. Love him. Donald Glover. Love him. Danny Pudi. Love him. And all the rest? Love ’em. I mean, you stick Jon Oliver in your pilot episode, it’s pretty much destined that I’ll love the show. You make an episode entirely claymation? I’ll write you an ode.

The characters are all fantastic. I especially have a soft spot for Abed, with his intensive pop culture knowledge. And Britta was dear to me as soon as she admitted that she dropped out of high school because she thought it’d impress Radiohead. Troy is just adorable and Jeff is quite possibly the coolest guy at Greendale.

I’m also thankful that Community gave me another new discovery: The 88. They do the theme song for the show and I kind of love it. They make a halfway decent Pandora station, too. (Pandora, another new discovery of 2010. Thanks to Amanda.)

Okay, love letter over. But I will gift you with a compilation of end-tags from the show.

Leave a Reply

