Georgetown… or was it Halloweentown?

Every year around Halloween, Georgetown morphs into Halloweentown. I kind of love it. I love it! Because, let’s face it, I’m a Halloween costume champ when I put my mind to it. Some of my best include:

  • Robin, of Batman & Robin (1997?)
  • Y2K bug (1999)
  • Voting Booth (2000)
  • Pillsbury Doughboy (2003)
  • Cheerleader (my ironic statement of 2004)
  • Kimberly, the Pink Power Ranger (2007)

This year, I was a genius – I went as a college student. My only real reason for taking the easy way out was that I’ve grown pretty apathetic about Halloween. Candy – eh. This year I had to work during Trick-or-Treating on Embassy Row and was dead tired when it came to Saturday night. See:

Why I was tired on 10/30/10
But, alas, I pulled myself up by my bootstraps and got in a gung-ho mood. The night was crazy, hectic, and the most fun I can remember having in a long, long time. Highlights include:

  • Playing my first ever game of Kings! I was so excited, y’all. Hannah taught me the rules a couple summers ago at BVFAC, but this was my first opportunity to play. About damn time.
  • Trooping to Georgetown with a bunch of new friends from Maryland.
  • Catching the Circulator Bus to Dupont Circle and annoying some poor lady (accidentally, of course).
  • Attempting to convince a drunk kid that he was Jamaican. He believed that he was a male Russian spy named Salt. His mission: Destroy other Russian spies. Namely me.
  • Taking charge of said drunk boy with a six foot tall penguin named Kevin. Neither Penguin Kevin or myself had any real investment in Drunk Boy’s well being, but we’re just that nice.
  • Hearing from Penguin Kevin that Drunk Boy was hit on in the men’s room of Kramer Books by a gay guitarist.
  • Hauling Drunk Boy the 8 blocks (with the help of Penguin Kevin) before realizing that he could and would walk the remaining 2 blocks of the journey without making a break for it.

Halloween in DC is never boring, and rightly so. It’s become a way for GW students to unofficially celebrate the end of midterms, since we have no Fall Break. Kids go crazy. Fun gets had. And my night was probably one of the tamer stories that you’ll come across from GW students. (You’re welcome, parents.)

Here’s a pretty perfect and surprisingly accurate description of Halloween in Georgetown:

3 thoughts on “Georgetown… or was it Halloweentown?

  1. Yeah, you won a runner-up for Robin at the Homewood Holiday Festival. But the big coup was the year before you won first place and a $50 savings bond for, wait for it, Barney! I hate Barney but you were ADORABLE.

  2. Molly the Ghost says:

    I thought I won the savings bond for the butterfly costume. And it was for 2nd place because the twits who dressed up as Pebbles and Bam Bam complete with the Flinstones car won first. Yes, I’m still sore about that.

  3. Mom says:

    Reality check: Not sure if it was Robin or Barney that got you first place, but the prize was a $50 gift certificate to a clothing store, not a Savings Bond. And you forgot the Nurse costume, which was stellar!

Leave a Reply

