Party in the USA

Happy Constitution Day, everybody! I know that I, for one, am excited. Who in their right mind wouldn’t be? I’m going out to celebrate this wonderful day all weekend long. Hold on for the ride, this is going to get messy:

While Wednesday doesn’t really count as the weekend, I was on the Hill. The workings of Congress take up a whole article of the Constitution, so there you go.

Yesterday, I stopped by the National Gallery of Art to see the Allen Ginsberg photo exhibit (and his subsequent interpretation of his freedom of expression). It (the photo exhibit) was actually a lot better than I expected it to be. I mean, who really thinks of Ginsberg as a photographer? Poet, sure. Photographer, not so much. There were a few pictures that I absolutely loved. It was also really fun to see pictures of Neal Cassidy, Jack Keruac and even a picture of the interior of Tim Leary’s place in Poughkeepsie, NY. You see, I wrote a little paper about the beats and the Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test for my American Studies class just last semester. This was like taking a visual tour of their friendships preceding that experience.

Today, I’m going to We, the Pizza for dinner before heading south of the border for drinks and dessert.

Tomorrow’s festivities include a midnight showing of (arguably) the worst movie of all time: The Room.

I wish you all a Happy Constitution day and that you dare to have as much fun as I surely will. Now, enjoy:

Believe it or not, that song is actually on my iPod. No joke.

Leave a Reply

