Camera Obscura

Today was a day of resolutions.  That doesn’t sound like much, but then again, I rarely make them.  What I realized today was how much I really miss photography.  At home I would shoot high school sports on a semi-regular basis.  The only chance I’ve had to shoot anything in the past five months has been over my brief winter break.  This semester I made the decision to bring my SLR to school with me, and I have yet to use it.  Last semester I assured Rachel that I’d go with her to the newspaper assignment meetings so that I could work as a staff photographer.  I have yet to go to a meeting.  Part of the problem is that those meetings only occur twice a week, and one of those days conflicts with my work schedule.  But that’s one of my resolutions that I’ve made today. Resolution 1) go to bed earlier on Monday nights.  I was extremely close to missing my 8 am Discussion today, rolling out of bed at 7:56 after only getting 4 and a half hours of sleep.  (I got home at 8:50 and went straight back to bed, not getting up again until 12:30.)  Resolution 2) take more pictures.  Even if it’s just walking around campus, or the monuments, or wherever, I should really try and take more time out of my life to do something that I love.

Too bad I don’t have a film camera at school.  I was born into the age of digital photography, really.  I remember my parents dropping rolls of film off at the drug store, but I never had to do that. I upload the files from my memory card directly to my hard-drive and straight to the internet from there.  I feel like I missed out on the tangible connection I could have had with my art. I know that’s true when I look at my dad.  I remember going to the Birmingham Post Herald with him when I was younger and seeing the photographers lean over light boards looking at sheets of negatives.  I remember when I was 12 and my dad set up a dark room in the basement of our house and I helped him to develop concert pictures that he had taken of Jerry Garcia.  But I’ve never done those things for myself.  I can’t wait to get home and learn how to use my newest camera. It was a present from my father, and it looks something like this:

Aside from that, I really love pinhole photography.  It really seems to be making a come-back, popularity-wise.  Every year, a Worldwide Pinhole Photography Day takes place. This year, it will be held on 25 April.  Some fantastic photos are always posted on that day.  I haven’t taken many shots on those cameras – the only one I have access to is my fathers.  The two of note that I have are the one in the title of my blog and this one:

The thing that makes me happiest about pinhole photography is the recognition that it’s garnering.  Hell, you used to be able to buy a pinhole camera at Urban Outfitters. But take a look at these pictures that a relative of mine took.  He’s the same photographer that has been given the honor of having his pinhole photography issued as awards by the Ohio Arts Council.  I couldn’t be prouder.

One thought on “Camera Obscura

Leave a Reply

