Tonight’s Gonna be a Good Night

I love the feeling of classes winding down and finals approaching.  It’s not that I’m excited for finals so much as reading week. An entire week to do nothing. Okay, sure, I could use it to study, but we all know that that won’t happen.  I anticipate trips to the zoo, museums, the movies, and long days in the dorm.  Amanda and I kicked of our reading week in style last night even though it doesn’t officially begin until Tuesday. Here’s how it went.

On Sunday night upon our return to the dorm from our Thanksgiving break, we popped in the first disc of Aaron Sorkin’s most recent episodic endeavor, Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip (2006). It’s chock-full of our favorite actors, including Bradley Whitford, Timothy Busfield, Amanda Peet, and Matthew Perry. Last night, after I got home from work at midnight, we really started to rally. We watched episode after episode starting at about 1 am.  By three, we hit the 4-episode story arc that ends the one-season series.  Needless to say we had to finish.  So, as Amanda worked on a project and I finished knitting a scarf, we absorbed ourselves with Studio 60. It was glorious; maybe the best decision I’ve made yet in college.  We didn’t turn in until 6:45 am, but that was okay because I didn’t have class until 12:45.  Many a time we replayed a scene.  Our Facebook statuses at about 5 or 6 in the morning really reflect how much fun we were having.  Back and forth we posted quotes from the series, often lapsing into raucous giggle fits.  I wouldn’t be surprised if we woke up Ellen and Anne. Here are some examples of our Studio 60-induced statuses:

Molly: has been having this fight in two different millennia now.

Molly: “once had this dream of having enough money and buying the entire West Wing cast just to keep them on retainer. For, you know, whatever. Maybe make them perform scripts for me.” – Amanda. cause us being roommates really was meant to be.

Molly: there was popcorn with butter. I couldn’t snap.

Amanda: wants this to be my family forever. no matter what else happens.

Amanda: is glad about that.

Amanda: just loves you is all.

Amanda:“When I have a baby, I want my husband… or whoever the father is… to be just like Danny. I want to be sure that he’ll have my kid’s back.” – Molly, on standards and expectations.

Today we went Christmas shopping at Target, getting decorations and cold-weather pajamas.  Afterwards, we stopped for some Anne-approved pizza.  When we got home, we watched one of my favorite movies, Pride and Prejudice (the 2005 Kiera Knightly version).  I was so excited when I picked up the DVD from the library I didn’t even mind that I had to go to the other campus for it.  It was completely worth it.

Now, as I type this, Amanda and I have restarted our Studio 60 marathon.  In all fairness, we started on the 5th disc, so there are only about five episodes to go. That’s no problem for us. (Apparently it was. We fell asleep after before the first episode was over with.) We can’t help ourselves, there are just so many good moments.  So, go, I implore you. All of the episodes are on Hulu. If that doesn’t work for you for some reason, visit your local library, or Netflix it up and give Studio 60 a try.  Still need convincing? Here you go.

Also, the relationships are wondrously ideal with a side-dish of reality, to quote my good friend and Aaron Sorkin aficionado, Amanda.  In other words, enviable.

Leave a Reply

