National Language

You may or may not be aware of the fact that America does not have a national language. Many people probably assume that it is English, and while that is still the most widely spoken, it’s not the only recognized language Americans speak.  That doesn’t mean that all citizens can speak it well, if at all.

Take me, for example. I’ve been speaking English my entire life. That doesn’t change the fact that my grammar is far from perfect – as Anne would gladly tell you.  I use the wrong word occasionally, end my sentences with prepositions, can’t get a handle on commas, and don’t even know what a split infinitive is. (Oops. See, my preposition ran amok.) All these faults probably don’t bode well for an aspiring speechwriter.

I’m trying to change, and that’s important. I recognize that I make mistakes and am working towards rectifying them.  Anne helps me out by editing my blog posts before they get published.  I would love to be a wordsmith and brilliant artist of the English language but it’s been a slow going thus far.  I don’t know if I should blame my poor grasp of language on my formative years in school or the way that most Americans have become lax with communication.  When was the last time you heard a brilliant elocutionist?  My point is that we should be a little more diligent in preserving language.

Here’s a little tidbit from my all-time favorite show.  I like to keep this in mind whenever I’ve made the dire mistake of misplacing my prepositions.  Hell, that’s if I can remember which words are prepositions. (Just kidding, I hope.)

Leave a Reply

